Foundation Single Crochet

Do not fear the Foundation Single Crochet …it is your friend…. especially if it is Doris Chan’s version….. It adds strength to your foundation and is easy to do…  

I have become a huge fan of Doris Chan’s Foundation Single Crochet .  To be honest, as Doris herself says on her blog, I have seen other versions of this foundation stitch.  I have tried the other versions and quite frankly did not really like the end results.  So while reading Doris’ page, I was a bit reluctant to try this again.  However I do love Doris’ designs and I respect her as a designer and her knowledge very much.  Therefore I gave it a go.

For some reason, either it is the way she shows it/ explains it or whatever, I understood it much better.  I have started using it in my own designs and patterns and I can’t speak highly enough of it.  Gives a nice, firm foundation to your crochet project.

I would highly encourage you to visit Doris’ page and to try out this stitch.  I think once you try it, you will never go back again!

Leave a Reply

