How To: Reverse Shaping

When I was a novice at crocheting, I didn’t know how to do some things or saw stitches in patterns that I had no clue how to do it.  Back when I was learning to crochet, the internet was not a big thing and I can tell you that I still couldn’t figure out some things from book diagrams.  The internet has been so helpful to me when I could see videos or better pictures on how to do things.  Oh I do love the internet for this – plus being able to learn from all you great crocheters out there…and to see your projects and ideas which inspire me!
Today I wanted to talk about Reverse Shaping, which is really necessary in making clothing like cardigans and sweaters

Some beginners may not understand how to do reverse shaping. Patterns often don’t explain this, leaving you to look this up or learn it yourself.
Reverse Shaping – How to Do It :

To reverse shaping, reverse the RS and WS rows. For example, if you are shaping at the beginning of a RS row on one piece (say left front or right front), you’ll need to work the shaping at the beginning of a WS row on the other. You will be one row off but this will not matter.  Its very important to mark your RS rows so you know what is what when making a piece that will involve reverse shaping.  I usually put a stitch marker or safety pin on the RS.  This is really the only time I give a hoot about RS and WS.

Yes, that’s it…its really that simple !

Ravelry  also has a very nice Technique Forum where you can always get help.

Please feel free to leave any comments or questions …..

Leave a comment