Crochet Baby Hexagon Granny Block

Picture before blocking

I thought I would share how I make a basic hexagon granny block…in this case, this pattern is done in baby yarn and can be used in a wide variety of colors to make a nice baby afghan.

This was taught to me eons ago by a wise crochet sage 😉 who was like a mentor to me and straightened me out in a lot of areas regarding my techniques.  So while the pattern is no doubt not original at all, I have not seen it written down anywhere in so many rounds as to make an afghan/blanket block this size in baby yarn.  (6 to 6 1/2 in) .  I have had to scramble through my crazy notes to make a pattern that makes sense…so if you see any errors please let me know !

You can work this block in multiple colors as well if you wish.

When I was taught to make this, it was because we were making a baby blanket for a neighbor.  We made pink and white hexagons and started with a pink one in the middle, 6 white around that, 12 pink around that, 24 white around that and pink edging.  We joined the like colored hexagons with their own color, and joined the pink to white ones with pink.  Turned out really cute !

Crochet Baby Hexagon Granny Block

(Transcribed from the 25+ year old notes of mine)

F Hook

Baby Yarn #3 Weight (I used Bernat Softee Baby)

6  inches flat side to flat side- 6 1/2 inches around (diameter)

ch-chain

sc-single crochet

dc-double crochet

sp-space

————-

Ch3 counts as first stitch throughout

Rnd 1  Ch4, join in first ch to form ring. Ch3, 2dc in ring, ch2, *3dc in ring, ch2, rep from *5 times. Join in top ch of beginning ch3.

Rnd2. Ch 4, *sk next dc, 2 dc in next dc, ch 1, sk next dc, 2dc, ch2, 2dc in next ch2sp, ** ch1, rep from * 5 times ending at ** on last rep. Join to 3rd ch of beginning ch3.

(Note – Very important to join on 3rd ch of starting ch 4 as the extra chain creates your first ch1 sp for round three. Mark it if necessary)

Rnd3. Sl st in next ch1sp.  Ch3, dc in same sp, ch1, 2dc in next ch1sp, ch1, *2dc, ch2, 2dc in next ch2sp, ch1**, [2dc in next ch1sp, ch1] twice,  rep from * 5 times ending at ** on last rep. Join top beginning ch3.

(Note- by now you may notice some curling on the edges of your hexagon – that is ok.  You can block it or straighten it out in the joining)

Rnd 4. Sl st in next dc, sl st in next ch1sp, ch3, dc in same sp, ch1, 2 dc in next ch1sp, ch1, *2dc, ch2, 2dc in next ch2sp, ch1**, [2dc in next ch1sp, ch1] three times,  rep from * 5 times ending at ** on last rep. 2dc in next ch1sp, ch1, join to top of beginning  ch3.

Rnd5.  Sl st in next dc, sl st in next ch1sp, ch3, dc in same sp, ch1, 2 dc in next ch1sp, ch1, *2dc, ch2, 2dc in next ch2sp, ch1**, [2dc in next ch1sp, ch1] four times,  rep from * 5 times ending at ** on last rep. [2dc in next ch1sp, ch1] two times, join to top of beginning  ch3.

Rnd 6. Sl st in next dc, sl st in next ch1sp, ch3, dc in same sp, ch1, 2 dc in next ch1sp, ch1, *2dc, ch2, 2dc in next ch2sp, ch1**, [2dc in next ch1sp, ch1] five times,  rep from * 5 times ending at ** on last rep. [2dc in next ch1sp, ch1] three times, join to top of beginning  ch3. Fasten off.

By the time you get to Rnd 4 you are basically working this as a granny square.

If you wish to change colors on the rounds do it after you sl st into the ch1sp at the start of the rnd. Join the new color with that sl st and ch3 with the new color.

You can add more rounds, or subtract rounds to adjust size of hexagon if you desire. You could keep going to make a whole blanket out of it if you wanted.

If you make this in a worsted weight wool, you will probably want to not use as many rounds as the hexagon would get really big and thick.  Experiment with what works for you.  When using worsted, start with the hook size the yarn recommends (usually a H or I) and adjust from there.

Of course it goes without saying, you could change colors on this at any point..really the possibilities are endless.

Any questions or comments please let me know…… 🙂

5 thoughts on “Crochet Baby Hexagon Granny Block

  1. YAY! I want to try this… Lately I have been trying to find Granny “square” (circles, and other shapes) to practice making. I haven’t fully gotten the concept of “rounds” yet. I am getting there though. I haven’t seen any other hexagon patterns yet. Thank you so much for sharing!

    • You are more than welcome. If you have any problems understanding it or you get stuck, please do NOT hesitate to let me know. I will be happy to help you through it. I learned how to do this 20 something years ago and in my mind I know how to do it in my sleep. Hopefully how I wrote it down will be ok for someone who doesn’t know how to do it in their sleep.

      Only thing I would say is watch the rnd where you chain 4 to start because at the end of that round you join in the 3rd chain of the starting chain not the top 4th chain. This messed me up when I first learned it because I didn’t then have my next chsp. So I put a marker in the 3rd chain after I made it so I knew that was where to join 😉

      Also take care, esp with baby yarns that are so thin, that after you do multiple dcs in a chsp, it is very easy to “lose” your next dc…sometimes can get hidden by the multiple dc’s in the chsp.

      All of this may make more sense once you start doing it.

    • I also have a circle around a flower motif I kind of discovered by accident. It ends up as a circle. Not sure what you would do with it but it turned out cute. I will post it up for you to see after I get home from vacation…(not sure I will have time today…)

Leave a Reply

